United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

What is UN SDGs and what does it stand for?

UN SDGs stands for United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 goals that were adopted by the United Nations in 2015. The SDGs are a blueprint for a better and more sustainable future for all. They address the global challenges we face, including poverty, inequality, climate change, and environmental degradation. The SDGs are interconnected and interdependent, and they need to be achieved in harmony.

What are the 17 sustainable development goals?

1. No Poverty: End poverty in all its forms everywhere.

2. Zero Hunger: Achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.

3. Good Health and Well-Being: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.

4. Quality Education: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

5. Gender Equality: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

6. Clean Water and Sanitation: Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

7. Affordable and Clean Energy: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all.

8. Decent work and Economic Growth: Promote sustained, inclusive, and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all.

9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure: Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization, and foster innovation.

10. Reduced Inequalities: Reduce inequality within and among countries.

11. Sustainable Cities and Communities: Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable.

12. Responsible Consumption and Production: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

13. Climate Action: Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

14. Life Below Water: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.

15. Life on Land: Protect, restore, and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation, and halt biodiversity loss.

16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions: Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all, and build effective, accountable, and inclusive institutions at all levels.

17. Partnerships for the goals: Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

Why do we follow these standards?

There are many reasons why we should strive to meet these standards. First and foremost, they provide a road map for creating a better world. They also help to ensure that our planet and its resources are used in a sustainable way. Additionally, these goals promote social justice and equality. Finally, they help to protect our environment and ensure that future generations will be able to enjoy the same quality of life that we do.

These goals are a set of standards that we should all strive to meet in order to create a better world for future generations.

Through United Nations Certified Emission Reduction Schemes, Carbon Neutral Britain are proud to be supporters of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Via Carbon Offsetting – all of the projects that we support have significant secondary benefits, and align with multiple SDGs – ensuring we do our part to create a better world

Are you interested in finding out more about Carbon Offsetting, and helping implement SDGs in projects around the world? Contact us today for more information.